Lydia Wins!

The Cheesemobile at the start of my journey at 7.20am Monday morning

The Cheesemobile at the start of my journey at 7.20am Monday morning

A little while back, when we had an alarmingly cold snap, we posted an entry on this blog about when we all thought the snow would first arrive.

Lydia is the winner, she said 6th December and it happened on 5th December.  That’s pretty damned close!

It was a very hairy journey getting to work on Monday morning for both Lydia and I and even Stu who had the day off and was taking his sister-in-law to Leeds for a check up, so we were all driving in snow.

I left early as we were having a delivery first thing and had parked up at the top, otherwise I would never be able to get out of my drive.  There was a bit of hint as it had started to snow a little on Sunday evening as I was driving back from the shop.

When I first set off, the roads had a light covering of snow on them but a mile or so into my journey, it got really quite bad

A mile into the journey, see white from side to side...

A mile into the journey, see white from side to side...

as there was snow from side to side.  Over the tops, it got down to -0.5 degrees C and was snowing very hard, like a big swirly kaleidoscope.  It wasn’t that bad once I’d got to work, but going home was very, very scary…white knuckle stuff.  I was shaking by the time I got back.

It is still here, so we will have to hope that the temperature rises a little and the rain washes away the snow.  Still, at least it

And snow on the ground at work Monday 5th December 2011

And snow on the ground at work Monday 5th December 2011

was 18 days later than last year.  We hate snow!

We shall have to think of a suitable prize for Lydia, for winning the Snow Book.  All suggestions considered…..

.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ribblesdale Cheese

Leave a Reply

