All of Ribblesdale Cheese is Vegetarian

Close up of curd being cut

Close up of curd being cut

We are asked from time to time if our cheese is vegetarian.

The answer is yes, we use a synthetic form (not GMO) of rennet called Hannilaise.

This is how the manufacturer of Hannilaise describes it: Hannilase Rennet XL205 is a microbial rennet made by a culture fermentation of mucor meihei, this milk-clotting enzyme can be used to produce all cheese varieties.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Ribblesdale Cheese

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s